Saxophone Concerto: Soprano Sax and Piano Study Score (HL-48024804)

Saxophone Concerto: Soprano Sax and Piano Study Score
Model# HL-48024804
UPC 888680978303

List Price: $29.99

Price: $26.79

Save Up To: $3.20 (10%)

Add to Wishlist

Email a Friend

Print Brochure

Share This

Scored for soprano saxophone and string orchestra, the composer states that this short concerto is based on archetypes of Scottish traditional music. The first movement, March, Strathspey and Reel, follows the pattern of a medley of fast dance forms, each section becoming faster and faster. The second movement loosely follows the practice of singing Gaelic psalmody in the Scottish western isles, where a cantor (in this case the saxophone soloist) leads with a melodic line, to be followed by the congregation (the string orchestra) who weave a heterophonic texture out of the canonic flow of parts. The last movement is based on the simple compound rhythm of the jig, marked 'iocoso.'

A major addition to the concertante saxophone repertory, the work was first performed in 2018 at Perth Concert Hall, Scotland, by Amy Dickson and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Joseph Swensen.

Study Score.
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Publication Date: 11/2019
Medium: Softcover
Pages: 32
Length: 10.25 in.
Width: 7.00 in.
Series: Boosey & Hawkes Scores/Books
Format: Study Score
ISBN: 1784545325
Voicing: Study Score

Can you believe it? No one has said anything about this product. Please feel free to leave a review about a product you have tried.